Skip to menu
Site map

Anglo-Japanese Society of Wessex

An Unincorporated Association

Honorary Patrons:
Alexander Rosenblatt, George Logan (Dr Evadne Hinge), Michael Soumei Coxall, Kazue Yanagida

Japan Representative:
Kazue Yanagida

Please see Links for more information on our patrons

Special Advisor:
Jackie Wright

Godfrey King

Web Site:
Phil Ronan, Steve Rice

Established 1996

Printing services

For more than 5 years Kallkwik have looked after AJSW's printing needs for which we sincerely thank them

Special Features

YouTube Site

View all our Playlists and features

Annual Reviews

See Godfrey's Blog for AJSW Review 2013 / 2014 and previous years.

Click to view blog

Other blog categories:

Pascal's Triangle

Click to play video

Carol I Need You (click to play video)

See Pascal's Triangle feature on our Audio and Video Archive page.

Musician's Chapel Dedication

See the Musicians Chapel dedication January 2nd, 1955 on our Events page.

What we do


柳田 和江(名誉パトロン)AJSW日本代表

Click here for biography

◀ Previous event
Next event ▶

Event Info

◀ Back to events page

An-Ting Chang - piano recital

Wed Oct 31st 2012, 1:10–2:10 pm ◀ This event has finished
St. Sepulchre, the Musicians Church, Holborn Viaduct, London EC1A 2DQ


Franz Schubert (1797 – 1828)

Moments Musicaux (Musical Moments), D 780

Moderato – Andantino – Allegro Moderato – Moderato – Allegro Vivace – Allegretto

Frédéric Chopin (1810 – 1849)

Etudes, Op. 25, Nr. 1 & 5

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 - 1750)

Toccata in E minor, BWV 914

Maurice Ravel (1875 – 1937)

Toccata (from Le Tombeau de Couperin)


Schubert’s works present strong dualities in the music: thematic contrast, juxtaposition of major and minor keys and the conventional and the remote modulations. The music undergoes a journey full of these dualities and often, it is followed by the return of the beginning theme or the previous sections. The ‘return’ is like the resonance of the composer’s interior recollection of his musical journey. Moments Musicaux consists of six pieces. There is no direct connection between the keys of the pieces (the keys: C major – A flat major – F minor – C sharp minor – A flat major). However, by using other musical relations, the music shows an integrated shape and strong coherence throughout. The fresh and bright first C major piece descends to the second choral-like music in A-flat major. It is followed by the contrast between the solemn second piece and the enchanting third dance. The rhythm of the third piece is maintained to the fourth piece, but the folk dancing style is now changed to a Baroque style. The most violent and intensely distinctive is the fifth piece. The whole set finishes as a hymn with an internal seeking and examining in the last piece.

Chopin was a self-taught pianist. His etudes were originally composed for himself to make up the deficiency of qualified piano lessons, but remain in the repertoire today as outstanding concert works. His attitude towards technique is very different from his contemporaries (and even most people nowadays). In his opinion, the technique should serve the sound and the music, instead of contributing in a gymnastic way. The Etude Op. 25 Nr. 1 is named as Aeolian harp by Robert Schumann. Upon explaining this etude to his pupils, Chopin said, ‘Imagine, a little shepherd who takes refuge in a peaceful grotto from an approaching storm. In the distance rushes the wind and the rain, while the shepherd gently plays a melody on his flute.’ The Etude Op. 25 Nr. 5 features the dissonant sound of minor seconds through the main theme. From E minor to E major, the middle section is deep love and beauty enveloped within the dark and starred sky. Toccata refers to virtuosic instrumental pieces with fast-moving, lightly-fingered or other kinds of virtuosic sections. The form firstly appeared in Italy in the Renaissance period.

Bach’s toccatas fuse the Italianate showy passages to the German forms which consist of fugal and non-fugal sections, as well as regular and free rhythms. In Toccata in E minor BWV 914, the music starts with a short introductory passage and is followed by a fugue with a light and dancing rhythm, a fantasia with a free rhythm and a virtuosic semiquaver running fugue.

Ravel’s Toccata is the last piece in Le Tombeau de Couperin. With a strong similarity to the last section in Bach’s Toccata in E minor, Ravel’s Toccata is also a virtuosic piece and contains uninterrupted semiquavers through the whole piece. Le Tombeau de Couperin is ‘an act of homage addressed […] to the music of eighteenth-century France’ (Ravel). Ravel’s Neo-Classism, however, sheds light on the old forms with the new piquant harmony.


An-Ting Chang

An-Ting Chang's concerts include performances in the U.K., Germany, the Netherlands, Belgium and Taiwan. She regards concerts as creative works and approaches them by combining different arts into concerts. Her concert works include concert theatre - Sonata Movements, A Poet’s Love - A Recital Narrated by Piano, Voice and Multimedia and concert theatre - 4.48 Psychosis, Webern’s and Gibbons’ Music. After obtaining Master of Music degree from the Royal Academy of Music, she is currently pursuing PhD, performance in practice, study there with the support of Taiwan Ministry of Education. For more detail please visit or write to

Venue: St. Sepulchre, the Musicians Church

St. Sepulchre, The Musicans Church

Photographs of St Sepulchre at the Flickr website


St Sepulchre-without-Newgate, also known as the Church of the Holy Sepulchre (Holborn), is an Anglican church in the City of London. It is located on Holborn Viaduct, almost opposite the Old Bailey. In medieval times it stood just outside ("without") the now-demolished old city wall, near the Newgate. It has been a living of St John's College, Oxford, since 1622.

Visit the St. Sepulchre website.


View Larger Map